VAEAI Representative Council

The VAEAI Representative Council is the decision making body of the organisation, formulating policies, strategies and programs for Koorie education and training in Victoria.


The VAEAI Representative Council includes the 10 members of the Executive Committee, 8 Specialist Representatives and the representatives from our 32 LAECGs.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is made up of:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • 4 x Regional Representatives - selected by the Representative Council from the 32 LAECG Chairs

The Representative Council elects the above positions at the VAEAI Annual General Meeting.

Specialist Representatives

The Specialist Representatives are elected at the VAEAI Annual General Meeting by the VAEAI members and have the responsibility to provide a comprehensive overview of their nominated area to the VAEAI Representative Council.

The 8 Specialist Representative positions are:

  • Early Childhood
  • Primary Education
  • Secondary Education
  • Adult and Community Education
  • Vocational Education and Training
  • Higher Education
  • Independent Schools
  • Catholic Education


The 32 Chairs of LAECGs around Victoria all sit on the VAEAI Representative Council. LAECG Chairs are elected by each local community. Each Representative Council representative is responsible for facilitating the flow of information between their local communities and the VAEAI Representative Council.

All LAECG members must also be VAEAI financial members.