Department of Education and Training

The Victorian Department of Education and Training (DET) has four regional offices for Victoria. Within these offices there are specific Koorie workers who can assist you with queries about schooling.


DET has 4 regional offices, which further divides the state into 17 Local Education Areas. A map of the regions and areas can be viewed here. For more information see the DET website.

Regional offices are located at:

  North Eastern Victoria Region


Postal address: PO Box 403, Benalla VIC 3672
Location: 150 Bridge Street East, Benalla VIC 3672
Phone: (03) 8392 9500
Fax: (03) 8392 9502


Glen Waverley

Location: Level 3, 295 Springvale Road, Glen Waverley VIC 3150
Phone: (03) 8392 9300
Fax: (03) 8392 9333


  North Western Victoria Region


Postal address: PO Box 442, Bendigo VIC 3552
Location: 7-15 McLaren Street, Bendigo VIC 3550
Phone: (03) 5440 3111
Fax: (03) 5442 5321



Postal address: Locked Bag 2001, Coburg VIC 3058
Location: Level 2, 189 Urquhart Street, Coburg VIC 3058
Phone: (03) 9488 9488
Fax: (03) 9488 9400
Melway ref: Map 17 K12


South Eastern Victoria Region


Postal address: PO Box 5, Dandenong VIC 3175
Location: 165-169 Thomas Street, Dandenong VIC 3175
Phone: (03) 8765 5600
Fax: (03) 8765 5666



Postal address: PO Box 381, Moe VIC 3825
Location: Corner Kirk and Haigh Streets, Moe, VIC 3825
Phone: (03) 5127 0400
Fax: (03) 5126 1933


South Western Victoria Region


Postal address and location: 109 Armstrong Street North, Ballarat VIC 3350
Phone: (03) 5337 8444
Fax: (03) 5333 2135



Postal address: PO Box 2086, Geelong VIC 3220
Location: 5A Little Ryrie Street, Geelong VIC 3220 
Phone: (03) 5225 1000



Postal address: PO Box 2141, Footscray VIC 3011
Location: 900/1 McNab Avenue, Footscray VIC 3011
Phone: (03) 8397 0300
Fax: (03) 8397 0303




Koorie Education Coordinator

Koorie Education Coordinators (KECs) are responsible for leading the Department of Education and Training’s (DET) regions implementation of the Wannik Strategy - Learning Together - Journey to Our Future. There are nine KECs across Victoria that co-ordinate and support the Koorie Student Support Team and work with VAEAI and other stakeholders to implement the strategy.

KECs can assist schools, Koorie students and schools with guidance on assistance on a range of programs and initiatives. You can contact your regional KEC through your DET Regional Office (listed above) for further information and advice.


Koorie Engagement Support Officers

Koorie Engagement Support Officers (KESOs) are an integral part of Victoria’s state education system. KESOs support Koorie children and their families with assistance to make the journey through primary and secondary school as seamless as possible.

KESOs focus specifically on the engagement of Koorie students, families and communities within the government school and early childhood systems, as well as kindergartens and other areas of early childhood.

KESOs connect with other relevant internal (school and regional staff) and external support workers to assist family engagement e.g. Wannik Youth Transition Workers.

KESO contact information can be obtained through each region’s KEC (see contact details above).